Wren and Stimpy

Card draw simulator
Odds: 0% – 0% more
Derived from
Wren and Stimpy 2 2 5 3.0
Inspiration for
Honor for Stimpy 0 0 0 1.0
Poe/Wren 3 2 0 1.0
Wren and Stimpy 15 14 15 1.0

MatCouz @ Chance Cube 528

updated version. just trying to steamline the deck... took out the thermal paints and put in two drop zones. If i'm activating sabine without an ambush upgrade i don't Think she's doing what I want her to do, the main goal here is to activate her with an ambush weapon every round and resolve decent damage every time.

what i've decided to do is take out thermal paint and put in drop zone. essentially they're both doing 1 damage per round but by using dropzone i can have it both ways. I can do one damage per round with drop zone as long as i'm claiming (in most cases i am) and i can still play an ambush weapon on her every round. dropped 1 impersonate in favor of another second chance, figured i'd rather pay 1 extra resource and heal 5 rather than just move damage around, also I always play a weapon on sabine first so overwriting a second chance on her is usually quite easy and i can always bring that weapon back next round.

19 comments

JachPot 176

I might have missed the previous discussion, but what's the point of IQA and the 2nd Poe blaster over Holdout if you feel like activating without ambush is bad?

MatCouz @ Chance Cube 528

Iqa is the best 3 cost upgrade with It's a Trap! synergy. The +3 and special are what make it worth it. Poes blaster is too good not to have two, want to make sure it gets drawn once I have 1 upgrade on Sabine. In terms of the holdout, the sides just aren’t good enough. Doesn’t feel good to roll out Sabine with a holdout, would rather have a dl44 or night sniper. Realistically I only NEED 1 ambush upgrade out to make Sabine work. I can overwrite the ambush to put it back in discard, then on the next turn activate Sabine and pull it back out. I rarely have to do this for more than 1 turn before drawing a second ambush upgrade. This is my reasoning. Not sure if it’s right or wrong but I’ve had a lot of success with this deck and this strategy seems to be working so far.

Speedr369 1

Curious as to why you don't use Planetary Uprising if you expect to claim often?

TakeoSVK 26

@MatCouz @ Chance Cube What do you think about Docking Bay - Finalizer as your battlefield in this deck? You can retrieve Running Interference in case it is discarded by Rend but this is of course not enough to justify playing it. You can then play Honor Guard and Stolen Cache for great synergy with the mentioned battlefield. You can basically keep returning Honor Guard every round and it will for sure helps a ton when playing a mirror match. Stolen Cache recursion is also great as you can play it exhausted from the discard pile and use it's action during the next round. Also C-3PO can be nice but I have realized that I am playing him rarely in this deck as the only real strong use case is probably resolving it with Sabine's 3 disrupt side. Please let me know your opinion.

Also, how often is Second Chance actually saving Sabine? I know it is easy to play it on her, but in my experience Sabine is often dead on turn 2 when playing against heavy aggro. Or are your opponents killing Poe first? It may be wise to do so. :)

TakeoSVK 26

@MatCouz @ Chance Cube Also another argument for C-3PO is that it help you resolving specials easily. I forgot to mention that.

MatCouz @ Chance Cube 528

@TakeoSVK I like that idea a lot actually... docking bay plus honor guard is basically free mitigation every round if you're claiming. threepio slows this deck down too much i think but honor guard and stolen cash are a solid addition, i just may try it out! since putting in a second copy of second chance, i've been able to play it pretty easily and regularly. definitely worth having.

TakeoSVK 26

@MatCouz @ Chance Cube Thank you! I have published my deck, however it still needs some tuning. You can try it out if you want and feel free to suggest any changes. I really want Sabine + Poe to be competitive (even after Running Interference is most likely nerfed). Link to the deck:

swdestinydb.com

FeCaprino 13

@MatCouz @ Chance Cube I can't wait to play test this. Actually, I can't wait for EaW to get to Brazil... :/ My question: how often have you found yourself not having an ambush weapon throw 2 turns? (I don't like Holdout Blaster sides either, would rather not use it and find 2 more useful cards)

TakeoSVK 26

@FeCaprino Actually I like playing Holdout Blaster in the deck as it allows you to play X-8 Night Sniper as your first action on Sabine then overwrite it with Holdout Blaster and activate Sabine to play X-8 Night Sniper back from the discard overwriting the Holdout Blaster and potentially resolving the dice you just rolled. Ambush card also synergizes well with Running Interference and the die is very similar to A280 Blaster Rifle.

imanolm 15

If you claim with Main Plaza and you play Drop Zone, can you place a damage in this moment on it?

imanolm 15

Sorry, asking about Docking Bay instead Main Plaza Battlefield.

FeCaprino 13

@TakeoSVKI see the point. Their sides are definitely similar. But the A280 Blaster Riflegoes with It's a Trap!, while Holdout doesn't. My first feeling would be to test a mix of your list and @MatCouz @ Chance Cube's. Really liked the idea of Docking Bay - Finalizer and the supports being cycled!!!

TakeoSVK 26

@imanolm no actually. as you first claim and the claim ability lets you play the Drop Zone.

J1mbo 1

@imanolm No. Docking bay says "AFTER you claim the battlefield you may play a card". So at the moment that you claim the battlefield, Drop zone is not in play, therefore you cannot place a damage token on the card. Once Dropzone is played, the bf claim has then already taken place.

TakeoSVK 26

@FeCaprino I have actually created a newer version of my previously posted deck: swdestinydb.com

Replacing your upgrades on Sabine with redeploy weapons is crucial to do when the opponent is killing her first and 2x Holdout + 1x A280 helps to achieve that. Maybe I will later change it to 1x Holdout + 2x A280. It needs some serious testing and much more games that I have played with the deck. It's a Trap! is already good even when used just on Poe's dice alone. I actually think that Heat Of Battle is better card in this deck than It's a Trap!.

imanolm 15

@TakeoSVK @J1mbo thank you for your answer.

imanolm 15

Anyway I found this question on reddit:

"I'd say yes. The main question is - when does "after" ability triggers. From RR rules: A triggered ability has a trigger condition and an effect. When a triggered ability meets its trigger condition, the ability resolves. There are two types of triggered abilities: ”after” and “before” abilities. And: A trigger condition indicates the timing point at which an ability may be used, and always follows either the word “after” or “before.” A trigger condition matches a specific occurrence that takes place in the game. So "after" ability triggers after the trigger condition. If the trigger is "after you claim" it triggers after you resolve entire claim ability (but not triggered abilities!): When a player claims the battlefield, they may use its claim ability. If they do not control the battlefield, they take control of it and move the battlefield card next to their deck. Also: An ability becomes usable as soon as its card enters play, and remains usable as long as that card is in play So ability of Planetary Uprising is already active at the end of "claim" ability, it meets trigger condition and triggers."

What do you thing? Drop Zone say the same like planetary uprising "after"

TakeoSVK 26

@imanolm Please check the official clarification from the designer: reddit.com

imanolm 15

@TakeoSVK thank you, clear now.